You are here

Available in: English

Preliminary overview of the economies of the Caribbean 2017–2018

Publication cover
Author: McLean, Sheldon - Alleyne, Dillon - Hendrickson, Michael - Pantin, Machel - Skerrette, Nyasha UN symbol.: LC/TS.2019/6 50 p. Editorial: ECLAC February 2019


The report provides an overview of the economic performance for 2017 of the Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Guyana, Jamaica, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago plus the eight Member States of the Eastern Caribbean Currency Union (ECCU), and the outlook for 2018. Data were collected from a review of reports from subregional institutions as well as national governments and interviews with government officials in each of the countries examined.

Table of contents

Abstract .-- Introduction .-- I. Macroeconomic policy .-- II. The external sector .-- III. Conclusion .-- IV. Country notes. Bahamas. Barbados. Belize. Eastern Caribbean Currency Union. Guyana. Jamaica. Suriname. Trinidad and Tobago.